top of page
Search

What Do You See?

"The word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Jeremiah, what do you see?” And I said, “I see a branch of an almond tree." Then the Lord said to me, “You have seen well, for I am watching over my word to perform it.” (Jeremiah 1:11-12)


The first thing that happens after God calls Jeremiah to be a prophet -- after God says not to worry, God will provide the words to say, God will give Jeremiah the power to do what he is calling him to do -- God asks Jeremiah to look around. "What do you see?" And Jeremiah sees a branch of an almond tree, a very specific thing, a part of something bigger. And God reminds Jeremiah that God is active in all things: "I am watching over my word to perform it."


What do you see when you look around? It is easy to be complacent about our surroundings, both places and people, when they don't change much from day to day. Or do they change? Particularly now in spring, every day the buds are a little bigger, different flowers may be trying to rise and bloom, people may be shedding their winter coats and glum expressions for lighter colors and demeanors. Do we see these things as God watching over God's word to perform them? Do we look at things as if they are the living, breathing word of God?


It is easy for me right now, living in the south of France, where it is sunny and warm and everything is still new and fresh to my eyes, to look at the world in wonder. My prayer is that whoever you are and wherever you find yourself today, you will hear God ask you, "What do you see?" and you will look and see the hand of God.



On the grounds of the Cathedral at Maguelone, on the coast, there are peacocks.

I don't like wind, but the kitesurfers make it pretty.

I happened upon a concert at the church next door, and was enchanted by this little girl.

I can't wait to see what today brings.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page