top of page
Search

Small is beautiful


One of the things we promise in our Baptismal Covenant (Book of Common Prayer, p 304) is to "continue in the apostles' teaching and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in the prayers." How can we best do that in this time of pandemic, when we cannot physically gather in our churches? I admit I have been overwhelmed with all the information coming at me via email, Zoom meetings, Facebook, and other ways I am connected with clergy and friends around the world. And I finally was able to step back and remember that the apostles were a small group. The first "churches" were small gatherings in people's homes, where they gathered to hear the good news, to share a meal, and to pray together. We can do that. In our own homes, if you are living with others, and virtually (over the phone, FaceTime, Zoom, Skype, etc) if you are living alone.


Will we miss gathering as a larger community? I hope so! And I hope we all use this time to reflect on what we miss about it, because those reflections can shape how we choose to be together in the future, when we are again able to gather physically for worship.


But I am convinced that our communities, our churches, will be strengthened as we find ways to pray and worship together in smaller groups. We will be empowered to find daily practices of prayer and worship that feed our souls in ways that large church services cannot. We will learn more about each other and be drawn deeper into fellowship. And that will make our worship and other activities even more meaningful, when we are again able to gather.


As a priest, I remember this charge from my bishop when I was ordained: "In all that you do, you are to nourish Christ's people from the riches of his grace, and strengthen them to glorify God in this life and in the life to come." I do not glorify God on behalf of those I serve. I strengthen and nourish them to glorify God. I commit anew to doing that, particularly for the community of St. Mary's by the Sea, which I am privileged to serve.


I will post reflections here periodically. I will provide resources for at-home prayer and worship, including sermons and other teachings. I will help facilitate small groups, as requested. I will be present to you over the phone, in Zoom meetings, and any other ways we can think of that do not violate our stay-at-home order.


I ask that you make some commitments too. Stay in touch with me and with others in our community. Find at least one spiritual practice that you will do alone or with others during this time. Plan now to observe Holy Week and Easter. Many of us put up Christmas trees as we are preparing to welcome Jesus into the world; how can we create holy spaces in our homes for this season? Let me know how you plan to continue in the apostles' teaching and fellowship, the breaking of the bread, and the prayers, and what you need from me to do that. (rector@stmarysbythesea.org, 831-373-4441 x11).

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page