top of page
Search

Sea and Sky


There is a hymn called "Here I am, Lord," written by Dan Schutte. It is based on Isaiah 6 (God's call of Isaiah) and 1 Samuel 3 (God's call of Samuel). It is often sung at ordinations, and our choir sang it at my installation as Rector of St. Mary's in January. I could not resist singing along with the chorus, and neither could many other people! It came to mind today as I took in the glory of sea and sky, because it begins "I the Lord of sea and sky, I have heard my people cry."


It usually makes me cry. Somehow it captures the emotion of hearing God's call, and of saying "yes" to it, even though we are afraid. Even though we feel inadequate. Even though we cannot know precisely how answering the call will shape our lives. "Here I am, Lord. Is it I, Lord? I have heard you calling in the night. I will go, Lord, if you lead me. I will hold your people in my heart." This morning, as it played over and over in my head while I watched the sea and sky, I couldn't tell if my goosebumps were from emotion or from the cool ocean breeze. Don't judge me.


God hears God's people crying. And God calls back to us, sending us into the hurting places in the world to be God's hands and feet, eyes and ears. And God fills us with grace and power, love and peace, to do what we are called to do. To care for people as we are cared for. Here I am, Lord. Send me.


62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page