top of page
Search

Reminder: Breathe


I've been waking up earlier these days, and often feel a tightness in my jaw that tells me I'm holding some stress in my body. The waking up could be due to the earlier sunrise, and that will be taken care of tomorrow...but the stress? It has snuck up on me, becoming part of the "normal" way I feel.


I was lucky to have a beautiful, if breezy, afternoon for a long walk. It's been a while since I walked all the way down the beach, and something about being eye-level with the surf and sand and birds reminded me to breathe deeply. (Thanks, Holy Spirit!) I slowed down, I took some deep breaths in time with the waves, I watched the birds run back and forth. I felt my body really relax. On the way home, I found a secluded beach and sat on a warm rock, feet in the sand, trying to empty my mind of all of the cares and concerns that are piled up. I can take a break from them; they will be there later, but in better perspective.


I hope that wherever you are, something reminds you to breathe deeply, to take a break from worry and hurry and to-do lists. Marvel at the timelessness of air, water, and earth, and let your connection to them ground you anew in the knowledge that you do not keep the earth spinning. That's God's job.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page