top of page
Search

Remember your baptism



This is one of my favorite spots. Right at the "entrance" to this amazing tidal treasure trove is nature's own baptismal font. It always has water in it, and today there was a tiny (less than 1") striped shore crab exploring it. Each time I pass it I am compelled to dip my finger in it and cross myself. A reminder of my baptism, a reminder of the holiness of creation.


This Sunday we celebrate the feast of Pentecost, an appropriate day for Holy Baptism, as we remember the gift of the Holy Spirit. We will remember our baptisms during Zoom church and renew our baptismal vows. We will reaffirm our renunciation of evil and renew our commitment to following Jesus. We will assert our beliefs about God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. And we will promise, with God's help, to:

  • continue in the apostles' teaching and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in the prayers

  • persevere in resisting evil and whenever we fall into sin, repent and return to the Lord

  • proclaim by word and example the Good News of God in Christ

  • seek and serve Christ in all persons, loving our neighbors as ourselves

  • strive for justice and peace among all people, and respect the dignity of every human being

The only promise we make in our baptism that we are currently not able to keep is breaking bread together by celebrating the Eucharist. All the other work of the church - the body of Christ - continues, online and in our homes and communities. And although we cannot celebrate Eucharist, we can join together in prayers of thanksgiving, remembering God's faithfulness. I am so grateful for today's physical reminder of my baptism. May it strengthen me to live into those promises.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page