top of page
Search

One Rock


My walk was a little later than usual today as we went to the farmer’s market first. In the way down to the coast I wondered how many birds I’d see, because I find there are usually more earlier. But only about 100 yards down the path, an osprey came within about 2 feet of me, chasing a small bird. Then he landed so I could get a picture. (see Instagram or Facebook for a pic of him in flight). Further down the path, I came over a rise and there were more birds in the air and in the water than I had ever seen at once. My jaw dropped, then I grabbed my phone to catch some video.

It went on and on and on. So many birds, wheeling in the air, diving into the water, landing on rocks and taking off again, sometimes catching a fish, more often not. It was truly magical to watch. I didn’t know where to focus, not wanting to miss any of it.

Gradually, I moved in, perching on nearby rocks to get some closer views. What a rare treat to see these majestic creatures up close! I have so many pictures. But this one might be my favorite.


Amidst the cacaphony, stillness. A safe place to rest, and a vantage point from which to consider “where next?”


Our world seems very noisy right now. Others are whirling around us in all directions. Find a rock, real or metaphorical. A prayer, a poem, a friend, a favorite chair. Rest a minute. Watch what is going on around you and consider your next move. It might just be to sit a while longer.

My rock is God. I find God at the shore, in family and friends, in stillness and in motion. I sometimes have to look intentionally, but this morning I was grateful for the obvious presence of my Creator and overwhelmed by her goodness.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page