top of page
Search

New Life


A baby harbor seal, being fed by mom. It is a cloudy, misty day here. I didn’t take a big walk in the morning because when I went out it was between misty and drizzling and I was too lazy to go back and put on my raincoat, so I waited and went out later. Melvin came along and we walked into town to church so I could pick something up. Which put us near the beaches where the harbor seals are pupping.


There were 7 moms with pups, and some other seals napping on the sand. The pandemic doesn’t bother them. In fact, it’s probably helpful to them as there are fewer people than normal hanging around bothering them. Life goes on. The world is still spinning, and not all of it is out of control. The cycles and seasons of creation can ground us as our own routines have been disrupted.


We may not remember what day it is, but we know it is spring. And just like spring doesn’t always feel springy (I hear some of you are being snowed on), we may not be feeling like there is much new life in our lives right now.


But I bet if you open your hearts, you will catch a glimpse. Something new is always coming. It may start out small and vulnerable, like this baby seal, but with care and attention it can grow and thrive. It may surprise us endlessly, in ways good and bad, while it is growing, and we do not know what it will really be like when it is grown. Still, the fact of new life is cause to rejoice. Life has not ended. All is not lost. The Creator is not finished with us, not just yet.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page