top of page
Search

I Lift My Eyes


It's been clear enough here, since the big winds of the weekend, to see across the bay to the Santa Cruz mountains. And yesterday as I saw this view, my heart recited Psalm 121. "I lift up my eyes to the hills - from where will my help come? My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth." This is quite a statement, isn't it, especially when you consider the glory of creation, and its vastness? That God would be not only available, but eager, to help us? Delighted, rather than annoyed, when we call for help?


Many of us pride ourselves on being able to handle almost anything. We love to be called upon for help but resist calling on others when we find ourselves in need. We don't want to be a bother. It's not as bad for us as it is for others. You know the drill. This is a terrible habit of the heart. Our reluctance to ask others for help spills over and becomes a reluctance to turn to God (or is it the other way around...).


It is one thing to say that our help comes from God. It is another thing for us to act on that knowledge. Don't let it get to the point where it's all out of control before you ask for help. A daily habit of engaging with God over the challenges in our lives keeps us centered and focused. Let the hills around you always remind you that help is at hand. And every time you see them, say a prayer.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page