top of page
Search

Glory and Belief


St. Nazaire Basilica, Carcassonne





Every village, no matter how small, has a church of some kind. They are usually the biggest thing in town. They are built with soaring ceilings, gorgeous carvings, beautiful stained glass. They are meant to evoke the grandeur of heaven, to be a place on earth where we can imagine ourselves in communion with all the saints - with all who are in God's presence eternally.


I wonder how many people who wander in stop to consider that they are in a space that testifies to the existence and the glory of God. I don't think non-Christians enjoy the beauty and grandeur any less than I do, but I think they experience it differently.


"So the Jews gathered around him and said to him, "How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly." Jesus answered, "I have told you, and you do not believe. The works that I do in my Father's name testify to me; but you do not believe, because you do not belong to my sheep." (John 10:24-26)


"I have told you, and you do not believe." Even Jesus himself could not make people believe. Some people experienced Jesus as a savior, a teacher, a healer. Some experienced Jesus as a threat to their power. Some experienced Jesus as a madman, a crazy prophet. Jesus loved them all.


We each come to the holy through our own experiences. Wherever we are in our physical and spiritual journeys, Jesus loves us. Today, go someplace that reminds you of the immensity and power of God's love, whether it is a cathedral built by human hands, a book, music, or a piece of creation. Share it with another, even if they don't experience it the same way you do.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page