top of page
Search

Gathering


There was something about sitting in the back of the church this morning, looking through the glass at the assembled family, listening to the organ, preparing to lead a celebration of life service. I didn’t cry, but it felt so very much like coming home.


Our routines have been upended and rituals are not the same as they were, but they have not lost their power. We choose to gather however we can because gathering is a holy offering. Whether on Zoom or in person, to gather is to offer ourselves to others, and in the case of a religious gathering, to offer ourselves to God, who creates, redeems, and sustains us eternally.


Tomorrow the inside of the church will echo once again with scripture, congregational responses, and organ music. As I think about it, I am filled with joy. But I feel joy when I lead our online services as well - and maybe that’s why I didn’t cry today. Our community never stopped gathering. We just moved online. We actually gathered more often, more intentionally.

I can’t wait to see where the Holy Spirit leads us next. As long as we gather, blessings abound.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page