top of page
Search

Floating

I love watching otters. They seem so relaxed, no matter how choppy the water or how high the waves. As I watched this one today I wondered how they know which waves are safe (even fun!) to ride and which they should dive under to avoid. They don't appear to look; it seems to be by feel.


I love seeing their brown bodies at the crest of a wave, just as it is about to break. For me, watching them makes me wonder about my own tolerance for metaphorical choppy water and big waves. Do I dive under even though it would be safe, and even fun, to float? Does my fear override my curiosity and courage?


Perhaps we can train ourselves to relax even when it feels like we are about to be overwhelmed. Perhaps taking a deep breath and trusting we will float is worth trying.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page