top of page
Search

Connection


In Andorra, there are several of these figures high on platforms. They remind me of the stories of the desert fathers - those early Christian mystics who would devote their lives to self-denial and meditation. While I understand the need for periodic retreat, I think life needs to be lived in the world. God became human to show us how to live, and Jesus did not hold himself apart but entered into all the messiness of our lives.


We went yesterday to the Grotte de Niaux, a cave where 1 km deep there is a large room with paintings made over 13,000 years ago. Bison, horses, and ibex. It was stunning. although we know little about these people, it is believed that the drawings had some sacred significance. As long as there have been people, there have been people seeking to understand our place in the world, and perhaps to find the meaning of our lives. We couldn’t take pictures inside but I loved imagining who they might have been and what they might have thought, so long ago.


That is a view from the cave.


Whether you connect best with God alone in contemplation, or through art or music, or by interacting with others, may you find that connection today, and be blessed.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page