top of page
Search

Clinging to the Rock


This morning I stopped for a while to watch the waves. These rocks kept getting covered and uncovered as the waves approached and receded. The different plants moved with the water's motion, but remained firmly attached. Of course this made me think of the song, "How Can I Keep from Singing."


"No storm can shake my inmost calm,

While to that rock I'm clinging.

Since love is lord of heaven and earth

How can I keep from singing?"


Sometimes it can feel like the waves are going to cover us forever. They will not. The waters come and go, some bringing nourishment, some bringing pollution. The rock remains our steady foundation that will not let us go.


God is with us in the deep and shallow. God is with us in sunlight and shadow. Love is our rock. We may be singing the blues, or opera, or praise songs, but clinging to the rock, we can always keep singing.

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page