top of page
Search

Butterflies and Rainbows


I spent a long time sitting at the shore today watching the waves and the birds. I especially love the rainbows that appear just for a moment in the mist above a wave or in the spray as water hits the rocks. Have’t been able to catch that with the camera - yet!


I was thinking big thoughts about life, and death, and what death can teach us about living, and why one death close up hurts so much, but a quarter million deaths from COVID that we don’t see up close is not cause for alarm, grief, or immediate and decisive action by our national government. I was thinking about all the people who have died, and who will die, needlessly.


And on the way home, I saw this monarch butterfly. A symbol of resurrection, as the rainbow is a symbol of hope. Together they remind me that each moment is another chance. A new beginning is always possible. Something new is born even in death.

How might we live in hope, and act in hope? Remembering that resurrection is possible, even promised, is helping me today. Let us be alert for signs of newness. Notice them, point them out to others, and let hope spread. Rainbows and butterflies.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page