top of page
Search

Burning Bush


The color drew my eye, I suppose, to this plant maybe 10 feet off the path. I don’t know how many days it has been there. I missed it at the beginning of my walk, only spotting it at the end. Probably because earlier I was looking at the ocean and the fog hanging low over the rocks, and my attention was focused.

It made me wonder if Moses passed by the burning bush more than once before it caught his attention. As I stepped off the path to investigate, I did not hear God’s voice telling me to take off my shoes. But I did know that I was standing on holy ground. Because of the witness of scripture, I am connected with those who have gone before me in faith. When I see an orange plant off path, I am reminded of Moses and the burning bush, and it makes me wonder what God is calling me to today. As I said, I did not hear God‘s voice today. But my burning bush reminded me that I am on holy ground, the earth that is lovingly made, and that today, in the absence of a specific task from God, I am called to love God and love my neighbor in all I do.


What is your holy ground today? Where is your burning bush? How will you respond?

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page