top of page
Search

Being Human


It wasn’t until I sat down on the beach this morning and took a deep breath that I realized I have been feeling less than fully human lately. I know I am not alone. In a world where we are inside a lot, isolated from others, and where most of our interactions are 2-dimensional, it can be easy to lose our sense of being creatures - created beings who need to be connected with each other and with the earth to be whole.

How can we get through this pandemic with our humanity not only intact, but perhaps even enhanced? How might we use this time to rehumanize ourselves for the long haul?

For me, it is going to have a lot to do with nurturing my body as well as my mind and spirit. With intentionally making time to feel connected to the earth - laying on the sand, digging in the dirt, paying attention to the creatures around me. With playing the piano, fingers on the keys, creating music. With cooking and eating tasty, healthy food. With minimizing mindless screen time. With really being with the people I am with, asking questions, dreaming together.

I may institute a new daily activity - “human hour.” Because we all need to be reminded that we are creatures. God created humans and called us good. How can we feel that truth, body and soul, and how might it lead us into a healthier future?

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page