top of page
Search

Beauty Underneath


Low tide was at 7:30 this morning, so I was out early. I lose track of time and space as I wander the shoreline, picking my way carefully over the rocks, being careful not to step on anemones or other delicate critters. There is a special anticipation in looking at the underside of rocks. Lots of times it’s not terribly exciting, but other times the light is just right and it is almost like peeking into a fairy cave.

Like this one. The colors and textures are amazing. All that beauty, hidden in less than one cubic foot, underwater half the time. It makes me wonder what else we miss in our hurried lives, where we are so focused on our next task that we don’t take time to peer under the rocks to see what might be there. Not because it is of particular use to us, but just because it is marvelously made and waiting for us to notice. Creation is astonishing.


Thanks to the endlessly imaginative Creator for the beauty of the earth. What will you notice today?

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page