top of page
Search

Annunciation @ Home

Today we remember the annunciation - when God sent the angel Gabriel to Mary with the message that she would bear God's own child into the world.

Gabriel came to Mary in her home. Not in the synagogue.


Gabriel came to Mary in her home. Today, I have understood this in a new way. I love standing at the altar at St. Mary’s, beneath the window depicting Gabriel and Mary and our very own Monterey Bay. But today, as I sit at home, with my own little peek of the bay, I know even more deeply that God comes to us wherever we are. God does not need us to be in a church building, a “holy” space, in order to invite us in to God’s work in the world. God brings holiness to us, wherever we are.

So as we celebrate this Feast of the Annunciation, let us be at home, and welcome the angels God is sending to us. Let us wonder how it can be, that God desires for us to bear something of God’s own into the world. And let us, like Mary, accept our invitations, trusting that God will be with us no matter what the future may hold.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page