top of page
Search

And there was evening, and there was morning

Moonrise and sunrise over the mountains. "God made the two great lights - the greater light to rule the day and the lesser light to rule the night - and the stars. God set them in the dome of the earth...and God saw that it was good. And there was evening and there was morning, the fourth day." (Genesis 1:16-19)


God saw that it was good. Like everything God made. Every day, whether we see them or not, the celestial bodies rise and set. Our understanding of how that happens is different today than it was when the story of creation was told and retold in ancient days, before it was written in Genesis and became static.


Nature's testimony is never static.

"The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims God's handiwork.

Day to day pours forth speech,

and night to night declares knowledge.

There is no speech, nor are there words;

Their voice is not heard;

Yet their voice goes out through all the earth,

And their words to the end of the world."

(Psalm 19:1-4)


I'm kind of a word person. I love thinking in words, exploring vocabulary to express just what I am thinking. And when I am immersed in the grandeur of creation, I remember how little my words can do compared to the Word who speaks all things into being. They are not nothing, my words, but they are not everything, either.


The earth spins, the tides ebb and flow, the seasons change, stars are born and die, whether or not I find words to explain them. And so, sometimes, it is best not to try. Simply to be, to know myself to be part of this wonderful creation God calls good.


Nature testifies to truths we cannot speak. Join me in listening beyond words. It is good.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page