top of page
Search

After (sort of) the storm


Wow. If you don't live on the west coast, you may not have heard about the "bomb cyclone" that brought high winds and rain to us over the last few days. It was much windier and rainier to our north, but we got a pretty good taste of it here. It has left in its wake some incredible waves. Along the shore it sounds like you're on an active runway. And on our patio this afternoon it sounds like planes are constantly flying overhead. They're not; it's the pounding surf.


I took this photo this morning, as the clouds were beginning to clear. Can you see the moon way up at the top? Whatever is happening here on earth, the moon continues in its orbit, unperturbed. Whether or not we can see it, it is there - our constant companion. It provides perspective. On my walk, the wind was whipping, the waves were crashing, the clouds swirling and moving across the sky. So much movement. And the moon. Moving, but imperceptible to me. Surrounded by that perfect blue that promised a glorious afternoon.



The promise fulfilled, we picnicked along the shore, daring the water to spray us. (It did get that cormorant!). The wind has abated somewhat, while powerful waves continue to pound the coast.


I don't know how close we are to the end of the COVID storm. I do know that our shoreline has been reshaped by it, and continues to be reshaped by it. I still exercise caution by being vaccinated and wearing a mask indoors in public places, just like I exercise caution at the short by staying on high rocks and watching the surf. I know that however the landscape is reshaped, some things remain constant, like the moon high in the sky. Love is that reference point for me. Love that creates for the joy of it. Love that came to dwell as one of us. Love that empowers us. Whatever your storm, may you see love. And may it sustain you and guide you, even when everything else is swirling and changing.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page