top of page
Search

Activate Your Senses


I know it’s just a photo on a screen to you, but I hope you can feel some of the life it is to me. As the world swirls around me, I find myself breathing shallowly, not being able to focus, and running through “what if” scenarios in my mind. Luckily, I have a habit of walking every morning. I’ve been taking longer walks lately, because it takes longer to calm my mind so that I can approach the day as an actor rather than a reactor.

I remembered this morning that the most common grounding technique for anxiety attacks is the 54321 method. When you feel yourself spinning, look around for:

  • 5 things you can see

  • 4 things you can feel

  • 3 things you can hear

  • 2 things you can smell

  • 1 thing you can taste

This morning I saw so many birds! And the moon setting over the water, waves crashing on rocks, runners, and dogs. I felt the cool breeze off the ocean, the rocks under my feet, the smoothness of a shell, and the elastic of my mask over my ears. I heard the crashing waves, birds calling, and the retreat of the water over gravel. I smelled the fresh air and the slightly musty smell in the shrubs where the rabbits live. I tasted the goodness of creation.


I may need to go back out later today, but for now I'm OK. My prayer is that you are, too.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page