top of page
Search

A low-tide celebration of diversity


I love seeing the different colors of sea stars when I venture out at low tide! Today I didn't see as much variety as I sometimes do, but you still get a sense of the purples/reds/oranges/yellows. And that's not including the variety of other colorful creatures I spotted (check out my instagram or FB for that post).


It occurs to me, not for the first time - why do we not celebrate the differences in human skin color (and size and shape, for that matter)? Why do we think color, size, or shape have any relationship at all to one's personhood? Honestly, I'm baffled. The witness of nature is incredible diversity. Let's let nature teach us. Let's seek out difference to delight in it and learn from it. Let's work to root out hatred, bigotry, and discrimination of all kinds so that every human can flourish.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Dear friends, I started this blog 5 years ago as a Lenten discipline when I did not actively serve in a church. It has been a place for me to process, to proclaim, to share some of my journey and spre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page